BPMN

BPMN

BPMN (Business Process Model and Notation)

The Business Process Model and Notation is a technique to graphically represent business processes. The different symbols map activities, documents, events and systems as well as their interrelationships. Each object class has its own graphical equivalent so that they are easily distinguishable. Responsibilities, departments or other organizational units are represented by pools and lanes. BPMN 2.0 is the standard modeling language in business process management.

LANA Lexikon BPMN-Model | Process Mining Definition

Why is BPMN so important?

The notation has established itself as a standard in the areas of business process management and all disciplines based on it, such as Process Mining. In addition, having a standard notation is important, since the corresponding processes are understandable for everyone who is familiar with BPMN. Such standards also simplify the work of analysts and vendors of tools, as there is no need to learn and implement an infinite number of modeling elements and languages. In addition, the process exchange between departments, companies and industries is facilitated. Furthermore, a uniform process representation simplifies the switch between modeling and analysis software.

What exactly is BPMN used for?

The notation is used to represent processes, such as business processes. With BPMN, steps and processes are assigned certain notations and visualized accordingly.

The most important objects of the notation are:

BPMN - Process Mining Glossary | Lana Labs

For a complete model, at least one start and one end event and one work step, called an activity, must be defined. The sequence of the activities can be represented conditionally and with temporal classification (following, parallel). In addition, instances are defined, persons responsible or machines that carry out the activities.

 

Related terms: Business Process, Process Modeling, Activity, Business Process Management, Process Path

BPMN

BPMN

BPMN (Business Process Model and Notation)

Die BPMN (Business Process Model and Notation) ist eine Technik um Geschäftsprozesse grafisch darzustellen. Mit den verschiedenen Symbolen der Notation werden Aktivitäten, Dokumente, Ereignisse und Systeme sowie deren Zusammenhänge abgebildet. Jede Objektklasse hat dabei ihr eigenes graphisches Äquivalent, sodass sie gut unterscheidbar sind. Zuständigkeiten, Abteilungen oder andere Organisationseinheiten werden mittels Pools und Lanes dargestellt. Die BPMN 2.0 ist die Standardmodellierungssprache im Geschäftsprozessmanagement.

LANA Lexikon BPMN-Model | Process Mining Definition

Warum ist die BPMN so wichtig?

Die Notation hat sich als Standard in den Bereichen des Geschäftsprozessmanagements und auch allen darauf aufbauenden Disziplinen, wie dem Process Mining, etabliert. Außerdem ist eine Standard-Notation wichtig, da die entsprechenden Prozesse für jeden verständlich sind, der vertraut mit der BPMN ist. Durch solche Standards wird auch die Arbeit von Analysten und Tool-Herstellern vereinfacht, da nicht unendlich viele Modellierungselemente und -sprachen gelernt bzw. implementiert werden müssen. Darüber hinaus wird der Prozessaustausch zwischen Abteilungen, Unternehmen und Branchen erleichtert. Zusätzlich vereinfacht eine einheitliche Prozessdarstellung den Wechsel zwischen Modellierungs- oder Analysesoftware.

Was genau wird mit der BPMN gemacht?

Sie wird genutzt, um Prozesse darzustellen, üblicherweise Unternehmensprozesse. Bei der Business Process Model Notation werden Arbeitsschritten und -abläufen bestimmte Notationen zugeordnet und dementsprechend visualisiert.

Die wichtigsten Objekte der Notation sind:

BPMN - Process Mining Glossary | Lana Labs

Für ein vollständiges Modell muss jeweils mindestens ein Start- und Endereignis sowie ein Arbeitsschritt, Aktivität genannt, definiert sein. Die Abfolge der Aktivitäten kann bedingt und mit zeitlicher Einordnung (folgend, parallel) dargestellt werden. Außerdem werden Instanzen definiert,  Verantwortliche oder Maschinen, die die Aktivitäten ausführen.

 

Verwandte Begriffe: Geschäftsprozess, Prozessmodellierung, Aktivität, Geschäftsprozessmanagement, Prozesspfad