Gartner and Wil van der Aalst – The Future of Process Mining

Gartner and Wil van der Aalst – The Future of Process Mining
July 2, 2019 Jonny

The Gartner Tech Trends and the new Market Guide for Process Mining describe Process Mining as an innovative technology that is decisive for competitiveness. However, it is quickly forgotten that the method was developed over 20 years ago by Prof. Wil van der Aalst. In a new interview with Gartner, Prof. van der Aalst looks at the developments of the past decades – and what the future of process mining might look like.

Transform strategically. Implement smartly. Optimize sustainably.

With LANA Process Mining you have full control over your digitization strategy. You can find out how LANA makes your company faster, more efficient and smarter by talking to our experts.

Growing importance – Process Mining is expanding in all dimensions

The acceptance and use of Process Mining in companies began more slowly than initially expected. However, both the Gartner Market Guide and the increasing attention for vendors like Lana Labs are proving this: The trend points rapidly upwards. More and more companies are recognizing the significant benefits of automated process analysis: higher efficiency, less resource consumption, stronger standardization. According to Prof. van der Aalst: “the process mining discipline expanded in several dimensions”.

This also applies to the use cases of the technology. While classic cases such as process discovery and general performance analyses are now covered by most providers, the market has changed. New approaches are required to utilize the full potential of process data with process mining today.

Future Process Mining

New focus points – Conformance Checking and Machine Learning

In order to keep up with the challenges of digital transformation, both companies and process mining providers must stay on the ball. At the cutting edge of these developments are vendors such as Lana Labs. The new focus on conformance checking and the use of machine learning give users a clear competitive advantage.

Process Mining today has to be capable of more than just finding bottlenecks. This is why advanced tools like LANA break new ground in process analysis. In addition to the performance of business processes, LANA also checks conformance in the automated target-actual comparison. This means that the tool no longer only answers the question: What goes wrong?, but also: How can it go better?

Prof. Wil van der Aalst also sees enormous potential in the use of artificial intelligence and machine learning. Tools such as LANA Process Mining use intelligent algorithms to cover not only “backward-looking” analyses, but also proactive, preventive process analytics. The further the technology develops, the more the software can predict. (Read more in our white paper: Digital Process Twins.)

LANA overcomes the biggest challenge – Effective data transformation

Wil van der Aalst - Portrait

Prof. Wil van der Aalst

Prof. van der Aalst sees more to come in the future than just sunshine for the further development of process mining. However, the problem points are not so much the possible functionalities of the tools. In process mining projects, too much time and effort is still lost on data transformation – before the first process has even been analyzed. An efficient ETL process is therefore essential. In addition, this inevitably leads to better data quality for the user.

The Gartner Market Guide for Process Mining confirms this: Lana Labs is a pioneer in this field. Lana Labs specializes in fast and complete extraction, transformation and validation of data, relieving customers of up to 80% of the usual project workload.

The insights of process mining luminary Prof. Wil van der Aalst show: Suppliers such as Lana Labs are breaking new ground in process analysis. We would be happy to take you with us. Book an individual, free product demo with our process experts today!

Gartner und Wil van der Aalst – Zukunft des Process Mining

Gartner und Wil van der Aalst – Zukunft des Process Mining
July 2, 2019 Jonny
In Interviews, Process Mining, Research

Die Gartner Tech Trends und der neue Market Guide for Process Mining beschreiben Process Mining als innovative, wettbewerbsentscheidende Technologie. Dabei ist jedoch schnell vergessen, dass die Methode bereits vor über 20 Jahren von Prof. Wil van der Aalst entwickelt wurde. In einem neuen Interview mit Gartner betrachtet Prof. van der Aalst die Entwicklungen der vergangenen Jahrzehnte – und betrachtet, wie die Zukunft des Process Mining aussehen könnte.

Strategisch transformieren. Smart implementieren. Nachhaltig optimieren.

Mit LANA Process Mining haben Sie die volle Kontrolle über Ihre Digitalisierungsstrategie. Wie LANA Ihr Unternehmen schneller, effizienter und smarter macht, erfahren Sie im Gespräch mit unseren Experten.

Die Bedeutung steigt – Process Mining wächst in alle Richtungen

Die Akzeptanz und der Einsatz von Process Mining in Unternehmen startete langsamer als zunächst erwartet. Doch sowohl der Gartner Market Guide als auch die zunehmende Aufmerksamkeit für Anbieter wie Lana Labs beweisen: Der Trend geht steil nach oben. Immer mehr Unternehmen erkennen die deutlichen Mehrwerte der automatisierten Prozessanalyse: höhere Effizienz, weniger Ressourcenverbrauch, stärkere Standardisierung. So Prof. van der Aalst: “die Disziplin Process Mining ist in mehreren Dimensionen gewachsen.”

Dies betrifft auch die Anwendungsbereiche der Technologie. Während klassische Fälle wie die Prozessentdeckung und allgemeine Performance-Analysen inzwischen von den meisten Anbietern abgedeckt werden, hat sich der Markt gewandelt. Um heutzutage mit Process Mining das volle Potential von Prozessdaten auszunutzen, sind neue Ansätze erforderlich.

Future Process Mining

Neue Fokuspunkte – Conformance Checking und Machine Learning

Um mit den Herausforderungen der digitalen Transformation mitzuhalten, müssen sowohl Unternehmen als auch Process-Mining-Anbieter am Ball bleiben. An der Cutting Edge dieser Entwicklungen stehen Anbieter wie Lana Labs. Der neue Fokus auf Conformance Checking und der Einsatz von Machine Learning geben Nutzern hier einen klaren Wettbewerbsvorteil.

Process Mining muss heutzutage mehr können, als nur Bottlenecks zu finden. Fortschrittliche Tools wie LANA beschreiten daher neue Wege der Prozessanalyse. LANA prüft neben der Performance von Geschäftsabläufen auch die Conformance im automatisierten Soll-Ist-Abgleich. Das bedeutet, das Tool beantwortet nicht mehr nur die Frage: Was läuft schief?, sondern auch: Wie kann es besser laufen?

Auch im Einsatz von künstlicher Intelligenz und Machine Learning sieht Prof. Wil van der Aalst enormes Potential. Tools wie LANA Process Mining decken mit intelligenten Algorithmen nicht mehr nur “rückwärts gewandte” Analysen ab, sondern auch proaktive, präventive Prozessanalysen. Je weiter sich die Technologie entwickelt, desto mehr kann die Software auch vorhersagen. (Lesen Sie mehr dazu in unserem White Paper: Digital Process Twins.)

LANA meistert die größte Hürde – effektive Datentransformation

Wil van der Aalst - Portrait

Prof. Wil van der Aalst

Prof. van der Aalst sieht in der Zukunft nicht nur Sonnenschein für die Weiterentwicklung von Process Mining. Die Problempunkte liegen dabei jedoch weniger in den möglichen Funktionalitäten der Tools, sondern sind vielmehr vorgelagert. In Process-Mining-Projekten geht noch immer zu viel Zeit und Aufwand für die Datentransformation verloren – bevor überhaupt der erste Prozess analysiert wurde. Ein effizienter ETL-Prozess ist daher essentiell. Zudem führt dies auch unweigerlich zu besserer Datenqualität für die Anwender.

Der Gartner Market Guide for Process Mining bestätigt: In diesem Feld ist Lana Labs Pionier. Mit der besonderen Spezialisierung auf die schnelle und lückenlose Extraktion, Transformation und Validierung der Daten nimmt Lana Labs den Kunden bis zu 80% des üblichen Projektaufwands ab.

Die Einblicke von Process-Mining-Koryphäe Prof. Wil van der Aalst zeigen: Anbieter wie Lana Labs beschreiten neue Pfade in der Prozessanalyse. Wir nehmen Sie dabei gerne mit. Buchen Sie sich noch heute eine individuelle, kostenlose Produkt-Demo mit unseren Prozessexperten!